Here are 2 things you can do today that can bring you happiness and contentment.

February 24, 2014 — Leave a comment

mirrorAnswer the following questions:

  1. Who & what do you see when you look in the mirror?
  2. Who & what do you think other people see when they look at you?
  3. Again, who do YOU see in the mirror, and is that really you?

To the right you can see a picture of my wife preparing for a wedding.  When I look at her I see beauty, intelligence, an amazing mother, and a person with an incredible work ethic.  Those are all traits that come to mind when I look at my wife, but what she sees in the mirror is much more important.  And the same is true for you.  You are an incredible person, and you have a lot to offer the world around you, but if you don’t see it then the world lies in waiting.  And you may be missing out on seeing many of your dreams come true.

I’ll be honest, for years I still saw that chubby 12 year-old boy who was made fun of in school.  I still saw that little boy who struggled to make passing grades, couldn’t get a girlfriend, and thought he was stupid.  I’m happy to say that I am doing much better now, but from time to time that chubby boy still shows up.  Yes, even though I have advanced degrees, got my weight under control by 16 years-old, and figured out how to get a hot blonde to marry me…at times I’m the chubby little boy.  And it can be tough to be the man when you see a little boy.  It can be very difficult to live life to the fullest when you don’t believe in yourself, and/or you aren’t even being yourself.

So I want you to give some thought to who you see in the mirror for a couple of reasons:

One, I want you to begin seeing someone wonderfully made.  I realize you may not look like Brad Pitt or his stunning wife Angelina Jolie, but I promise that you were wonderfully made with a purpose.  You can make many of your dreams come true, but you need to believe in yourself.

Secondly, I want you to ask yourself if you are even being yourself.  Many of you reading this and you are in your 30s, 40s, 50s, and beyond, and you have worked very hard at pleasing everyone else but yourself.  You have been living someone else’s life.  Meaning you have chosen your educational, spiritual, relational, and career paths based on what others thought or you wanted them to think.

How do I know this about many of you?  Because I am just like you!  And so I’m working on picturing and being the real me.  And it can be difficult, because I continually want to pull up images from my past, and equally damning I will ask myself, “but what would____________think?”  Who is in your blank(s)?  Maybe it is time you fill in that blank with your name.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

