Here is The ONE Reason You May Hate Your Job!

March 13, 2014 — Leave a comment

wired upOn an upcoming podcast you will be able to hear my interview with Chris Sprague who is the author of “The Secret Blueprint to More.”  Chris says the reason many are unhappy with their job or occupation is because they have failed to look at one very important thing…how they are wired.  We often times accept a new job, because we are going to make more money and power, and we forget to think about whether or not it fits our strengths and passions.  So we get excited to get going and a few months in we find ourselves unhappy again.  So we may find another job and repeat the cycle, and we get depressed because we don’t know why this always happens.

The answer to why we find ourselves unhappy in one job after another likely lies in the details.  If you are currently unhappy with your job then sit down and  write a list of the qualities, strengths, and passions that are important to be successful in your current field.  And then honestly ask yourself if that description fits you.  Let me give you an example.  I love the thought of starting any new business adventure, because I am an entrepreneur at heart.  Therefore, when someone gives me an offer to try something new my first reaction is one of excitement and “Let’s do it!”

The problem in the past has been that I don’t examine the details of the new adventure.  In other words, I have been a sucker for every multilevel marketing company ever developed. And I absolutely loved them at first, but then I realized something…I had to recruit people to sell the products (they always say you don’t…but you do).  I had to be assertive or down right pushy to get people to sign up and join my team.  And while some people LOVE that type of environment…I HATE it!  I don’t like applying pressure or hard selling someone, and if a job requires that then I will be miserable and likely unsuccessful.  Why?  Because that is not the way I’m wired.  I’m wired to be relational with others, and that is why I enjoy real estate sales.  In real estate people approach me and ask for my services, which is much different from me approaching them to push my services.  Now, there are times I will approach others despite it being out of my comfort zone.  I do believe we all have to get out of our comfort zones from time to time to be successful, but that should be the exception and not the norm.

So maybe today is the day you begin being honest with yourself.  Make a list and on one side put the word “hate”, in the middle “take it or leave it”, and on the right side write “love.” And then begin putting the things you hate, you can take or leave, or love under each heading.  For example, you may put:  organizing, managing, cleaning, working with numbers, selling, or working with people.  Then look closely at those lists, and begin determining if you are in the right place.  I would love your comments below!

Please hit share below!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

