Why Being A Radio CO-host Sucks! :)

jobbThe title of this blog is misleading, because being a radio co-host doesn’t always suck.  And yes I feel grateful to have a job where I work with fun people and get a chance to bring a smile to people’s face daily.  Also, I’m not technically a co-host, because a co-host is a 50/50 partner in hosting the show (thus the CO in host).  I’m more of a side-kick.  In other words, if your name ain’t on the bumper sticker then you aren’t a co-host.

So being a sidekick is sort of like being the center for the quarterback.  You are involved in every single offensive play…you give the ball to the QB, but he is the one who will make the magic happen and in turn get the glory (and major cash).  And that is obviously fair in seeing as though he or she has the bulk of talent and responsibility.  Now, the center is happy to be on the team, and to be part of the magic, but he secretly wishes that God had given him the body and abilities to be the man!

The difference between me and the center is that Fitz is my QB and I’m basically tied to his sweet ass wherever he chooses to go (or not go).  And quite honestly, if he would choose to go to another city or station I would likely make more money…a lot more money. Why?  Because the new station and Fitz will want the whole team together.  If Fitz chooses to stay at a station then they already have his team tied down.  Understand?  Good because you need to understand all of that to fully enjoy, and understand my first and only country song called, “Stuck” which is posted below.  And I also want you to understand that I absolutely LOVE living in the northwest, and I adore the people here in Washington.  If it were up to me I would live here the rest of my life, but that won’t likely happen because the cost of living is ridiculously high.

When you have a family of 5 like I do that means you are going to want a nice home in a decent school district, and safe city. So here in the northwest that means you will need around $100,000 to put down on the average home.  The average home will cost around $500,000.  Compare that to other states like Texas where I sold my 4 bedroom home for $150,000!  My rent alone here is $2,300 a month, and that is actually considered a great deal.

So how much should you earn to comfortably afford the average 3 or 4 bedroom home in Western Washington?  It would likely be around $150,000 a year!  So with all of that being said I hope you can understand my frustration with this beautiful part of the country, and knowing that it looks like things aren’t going to get better anytime soon.  I love ya and hope you enjoy my song!

7 thoughts on “Why Being A Radio CO-host Sucks! :)

  1. HollyBear October 8, 2014 / 11:19 am

    Tony Get out of Seattle area – you will find better deals on houses. Lots of great communities out there away from Seattle with good school districts, etc.
    Just do a little homework.
    I could NOT live in Seattle because of cost of living – think rural young man!
    Loved your song

    Like

  2. Teonie October 8, 2014 / 1:56 pm

    Hi Tony,

    You are one of my favorite people, and I really wish things were different for you. I know you’re grateful for what you have, and that you’re doing your best with the hand you’ve been dealt. That hand isn’t all bad, but it isn’t great either.

    I know you want to be closer to Seattle because of work, but you should really consider moving south, as in Puyallup, Spanaway, Orting… Not only would rent be cheaper, but you would probably find that you could afford a nice home in one of these cities. The time of the day that you commute back and forth, I bet traffic would be very light.

    Anyway, you and Amy should seriously consider it. I live in Orting, and it is beautiful here. I bought my home three years ago for $209,000. It has 2,600 square feet, 3 bedrooms and bonus room. While it has increased in value, you can still find beautiful homes here for $250,000. Why not make your next five years here as enjoyable and stress free as possible.

    Wishing you all the best!

    Teonie

    Like

  3. sheila October 8, 2014 / 8:24 pm

    Love you so much Tony!! Would miss you terribly so glad ya’ll are staying! Was reading the other reply’s about moving south, you don’t even have to go that far!! Come live with us in Covington!!
    Sheila

    Like

  4. Sean October 8, 2014 / 10:28 pm

    My wife and I left downtown and got a place here in Kent. I would recommend it. I know its a bit of a commute, but if you take the train it isn’t as bad. I’m sure that you would be able to find a house/condo/townhome down here that’s more affordable than downtown.

    Like

    • Tony Russell October 9, 2014 / 9:03 am

      we have 3 kids, 2 dogs, & 3 cats so townhouse is out. :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

